I have several preschoolers that omit verbs like “is,” “am,” and “are” from their speech. I think it can be tricky to find therapy materials that target “am,” especially for younger kids. So, I created some cards that I hope will help you practice using “am.” There are 20 different cards with questions that follow the format “Are you _____ or _______?” You can prompt your students to respond with “I am _______.” I chose descriptive words that I thought younger children would understand and included pictures on each card. You could also use these cards to target “are” by having a group of students answer the questions with “We are ________.” Or, you could have your students practice asking each other the questions to target using “are” in questions. Here are what the cards look like:

am_1 am_2 am_3

I also included some simple sentence strips that you can use to prompt your students.

am_4

All graphics are from http://www.mycutegraphics.com and http://www.scrappindoodles.com

You can download this freebie at my teachers pay teachers store here: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Using-am-and-are-Freebie

One response »

  1. […] Expressly Speaking has listed a “am” and “are” FREEBIE.  Check it […]

Leave a Reply

